No visit to Wimbledon Common is complete without also calling in at the Windmill Museum. There is interest for all ages, children and adults alike. And if you don't have time for the full tour, visit the shop for postcards, books, souvenirs and even Wombles!
The Windmill has been a distinctive landmark since it was built in 1817 to serve the local community. However it only operated until 1864, when the machinery was removed and it was converted to residential accommodation.
Today the sails have been restored to working order and the building houses a fascinating museum of windmills, with exhibits on rural life and local history.
The museum also has a display of Scouting memorabilia, commemorating the writing of part of 'Scouting for Boys' by Robert Baden-Powell in the Mill House in 1908.
The museum is administered by a charitable trust and run entirely by volunteers, which allows admission charges to be kept down. It is open on summer weekends only, but school parties and group visits can be arranged at other times.
Explore the tabs above for more information, or use the quick links below:
The mill is still without its sails after one fell from the windshaft in August 2015. The museum Trustees have been working with the owners of the mill, Wimbledon and Putney Commons Conservators, to obtain external funding for the repairs, which will include necessary work on the tower and roof as well as the sails.
Although the windmill looks somewhat forlorn without its sails, the interior of the museum is unaffected and visitors should be able to enjoy all the exhibits as usual.
STOP PRESS: HLF Grant approved - Click on the link below to see the Media Release on the WPCC website:
Wimbledon Windmill Museum CIO is a Registered Charity, No. 1162544