No visit to Wimbledon Common is complete without also calling in at the Windmill Museum. There is interest for all ages, children and adults alike. And if you don't have time for the full tour, visit the shop for postcards, books, souvenirs and even Wombles!
The Windmill has been a distinctive landmark since it was built in 1817 to serve the local community. However it only operated until 1864, when the machinery was removed and it was converted to residential accommodation.
Today the sails have been restored to working order and the building houses a fascinating museum of windmills, with exhibits on rural life and local history.
The museum also has a display of Scouting memorabilia, commemorating the writing of part of 'Scouting for Boys' by Robert Baden-Powell in the Mill House in 1908.
The museum is administered by a charitable trust and run entirely by volunteers, which allows admission charges to be kept down. It is open on summer weekends only, but school parties and group visits can be arranged at other times.
Explore the tabs above for more information, or use the quick links below:
School and group visits can also be arranged outside normal opening hours.
Sunday 21st June : Shoebox for Shelter workshop See 'Fun Days and Free Days' for more information.
The Wimbledon Windmill Museum Trust is a Registered Charity, No. 1015265